What does PAF stand for?

Hi all,

I am fairly new to this geocaching malarky, and wondered if someone could shed a light on PAF for me!

I was recently viewing some logs on a cache that is causing me some super annoyance! I noticed a lot of people were writing "In the end I used PAF", or words to that effect.

I can't work out what it stands for, so hopig someone can help me!!

Ta!

My list isn't too populated yet with lots of finds. Since I've only been at this for a short while. I do wonder though does this actually come in handy?

What if the person found the cache back in 2004 or something and have since found 1,000 more caches?

I guess it's possible they'd rememeber. I know I would forget by that time.

My list isn't too populated yet with lots of finds. Since I've only been at this for a short while. I do wonder though does this actually come in handy?

What if the person found the cache back in 2004 or something and have since found 1,000 more caches?

Usually a cache that is tough enough that you need a PAF is one that will stand out in someones memory.

The times I've seen it logged is because the hunters are calling someone they know to have found the cache recently.

I don't know how they came up with those initials but I am pretty sure that it stands for "Help! I can't find this cache by myself". :laughing:

In my experience, it means something more like "I looked for 2 minutes and I want to find 40 more today so just tell me where it is". YMMV :unsure:

Well, I didn't say what I thought of the practice. Did it once myself. Left a bad taste. Much more fun to actually find it. But that's me.