Built in compass needed or not

tquad

I'm a newbie considering to purchase either a Garmin eTrex Venture HC or a Garmin eTrex Vista H.

The units appear to be essentially identical with the exceptions that the Vista includes a built in altimeter and a compass. Inasmuch as I only plan to use the unit for geocaching, I don't think that I'll ever need an altimeter, but what about the need for the built in compass? Thanks, Ron

We had the Garmin Legend which doesn't have an electronic compass and now have an Oregon which does. We're much happier with the compass. For one thing, with the Legend (which is still a very fine instrument) you would lose your bearing as soon as you stopped moving. Although the pointer still indicated the direction of the cache on the compass face, it wouldn't point at it unless you maintained a minimum speed. The Oregon, with its built electronic compass, points at GZ whether you're moving or not. We really like that. Alternatively, you could carry a real compass and maintain your bearing with that.

I have an Oregon 450 with a built in compass and I am not sure it makes much of a difference most of the time. Most of the time I walk to ground zero and when I get there put the unit away. About the only scenario where I find it can help is when I get fouled in brambles and want to be sure that when I resume moving I do so in the correct direction.

Why the Vista H? For only $20 more you can get the Vista HCX which gives you expandable memory, turn by turn driving directions (with the appropriate software) and nearly unlimited waypoint capacity (as POIs).

The Vista H only has 24 megs of mapping memory and that gives you pretty limited coverage. You can use up to a 2 gig card in the Vista HCX giving you extensive map coverage.

And if you aren't planning on adding maps, then why buy a mapping unit at all?