Is Wherigo a no go?

ADVmonkey

Hi all I'm a newbie to this forum and this wonderful outdoor techie game/hobby. My kids and I would like to become more active in the GPS hobby and at present we are looking to purchase our first handheld GPS unit. We currently use a Samsung Omnia phone as our primary tool however the battery drains real quick making it impossible to look for more than one geocache per day. My question to all you experienced cachers is, is it worth the extra expense of getting a hand held unit capable of playing Wherigo (ie Garmin Oregon 550) or not. I've never played a Wherigo cartridge before but from what I've recently read about it it sounds like an awesome game that I think the kids and I would enjoy, however I notice that there doesn't seem to be too much activity on the Wherigo site and forums. Is this a game that has past in popularity. The new units that Garmin's putting out (ie Garmin GPSMAP 62st) do not seem to support Wherigo making me think that Garmin is no longer interested in supporting the game. Could anyone please give me some insight on the direction this game is going so that I can make an informed decision as to what I should purchase. Besides geocaching I'll also be using the unit for hiking, camping, fishing which both of the above units are capable of handling. Are there any other units that I should be looking at aswell. Thank you in advance for your response and insight. Any comments help.

Wherigo is a great concept. the creativity some people put into the cartridges is amazing and i love playing them, even though i haven't done a whole lot of them myself yet (mostly because there aren't any close to here).