Looking at this objectively

Guest Markwell

Guest Markwell

I'm just about ready to release my Travel Bug in the Chicago area. But before I did, I wanted to get an idea of what it would be like for the person who has never heard of Travel Bugs and had no idea what they were supposed to do.

I find a little do-dad in a Geocache with a little dog tag.

quote:
I go from place to place, picking up stories along the way. Visit www.Groundspeak.com to learn more about me and add your own! (stamped with 123456)
OK - I've got the bug and I go to Groundspeak.com and take a peek. No directions, just this:

NOBTh2FXlEU6mtaTYZqxlMVFbnaxQeKG00E5.jpg

Not very descriptive about what I'm supposed to do.

I e-mailed Jeremy asking him to put a little phrase like "Enter Travel Bug's 6 digit code here" or something like that next to the field.

I teach software for a living and I've learned never to leave anyone's experience or intuition level up to chance. Am I being too cynical in the expected intelligence of the Travel Bug's finders? I just want to make sure they know what to do with this thing once they've got it.

Guest arffer

Okay, I went to the site you listed, www.Groundspeak.com, and saw that creepy crawler thing you mentioned. Since you said in your above post to enter the 6 digit code '123456', that's exactly what I did, then clicked on the arrow symbol.

It didn't work, the screen just flashed and came back to the same page. Am I doing something wrong?

##################################

Okay, I'm just jesting (but don't leave my intuition level up to chance icon_wink.gif), but my real point is that if the 6 digit code is entered incorrectly, there isn't an error message, the page just flashes and repeats itself. An error message asking the user to verify the number they entered and try again might also be helpful. The more user friendly the better.

BTW, thanks Jeremy for adding the ability to delete logs on the travel bugs!