What features make appropriate Earth Caches?

BeccaDay

I am just curious about what kinds of features make an appropriate venue for an earth cache. So many of the ones that I have seen have to do with rocks or water. What about trees in an amazing forest? An area that I am considering right now is an educational facility that teaches about the undeveloped prairie (plants, animals, etc.) since so much of our country has been developed and changed. Also, I have seen a bunch of earth caches around here that have to do with Lime Kilns. I just found a wood kiln especially used for the clay on the prairie. Would this work? I just hate to go through all of the work of research, finding coordinates, getting permission, etc. if it won't be approved. I am fairly new at this but I really want to get my platinum level!

Unfortunately, I have found it hard to search through all the listings for other examples of earth caches. Maybe there is a better way to do this? Your advice on this matter would be appreciated, thanks.

An Earthcache has to be geological, so trees and forests won't cut it unless somehow you can tie them in to geology. Lime kilns might work because lime is geological, but I wouldn't think a wood kiln would work, unless you can take it from the angle of the prairie clay.

As for searching Earthcaches, you might want to try going directly to the Earthcache site, www.earthcache.org. From there click on Earthcache Listings, then click on Advanced Search. From there you'll be able to search for Earthcaches by country and classification.

An Earthcache has to be geological...

With all due respect to the noble sponsors of Earthcaches, the Geological Society of America, the Earthcache Guidelines state:

EarthCache sites must provide Earth science lessons.

I would be remiss in my dutiful responsibility to my Meteorological wife, to omit pointing out that Earth Sciences encompasses a very wide variety of disciplines of study.