Magellan's new Iphone case with Integrated GPS reciever

hey i'm pretty new to geocaching and i know that i've had some trouble on figuring out what GPS is right for me. I have an iphone and use that as my primary device. I was looking for something that i could use with my Iphone. I could look up all the caches on my phone, view the hints, etc; and use an accurate GPS to make my way to the cache. I recently came across this article on gizmodo, showing Magellan's new GPS integrated Iphone case. It looks pretty interesting considering that you'll be able to use 3g to look up caches rather than pre-loading them but still use an accurate GPS receiver to get to the cache. It's a little pricey at $200 but it could be promising.

500x_toughcase.jpg

-Nick

Edited by skinbonez11

That is an interesting idea. I don't know if it would save you preloading either caches or maps, since a lot of the areas where you might actually need a stronger gpsr, an indestructible case, and extra battery will be in places where the network signal might be very weak or unavailable. At that price, its not enough to bring me back to Magellan, since my handheld garmin serves me well, but if people get one I hope they would share their experiences.

hey i'm pretty new to geocaching and i know that i've had some trouble on figuring out what GPS is right for me. I have an iphone and use that as my primary device. I was looking for something that i could use with my Iphone. I could look up all the caches on my phone, view the hints, etc; and use an accurate GPS to make my way to the cache. I recently came across this article on gizmodo, showing Magellan's new GPS integrated Iphone case. It looks pretty interesting considering that you'll be able to use 3g to look up caches rather than pre-loading them but still use an accurate GPS receiver to get to the cache. It's a little pricey at $200 but it could be promising.

-Nick