physical log requirements

Hello, I am new to geocaching, but I think I have a pretty good understanding of the rules. There is a micro cache in my area that does not contain a log. The cache container is a 35 mm film cannister and the trade items are generally different types of coins. On the cache page, the CO says "given the small size of the cache, there is no log book. Please log your visit on-line."

Is this allowed? What prevents people from logging this as a find without actually finding it?

This is cut and paste from the published "Cache Listing Requirements" for a traditional cache

".... original cache type consisting of (at a bare minimum) a container and a logbook. The cache may be filled with objects for trade. Normally you'll find a Tupperware-style container, ammo box, or bucket filled with goodies, or smaller container too small to contain items except for a logbook. The coordinates listed on the traditional cache page are the exact location of the cache. A container with no logbook and just an object or codeword for verification generally does not qualify as a traditional cache. "

No log-book ... then it ain't a cache.

If it says in the cache description explictly that it has no log then I suprised that it got past review. Even so, there is always room for a log book ... you say you're new to this, ever found a nano?

If it bothers you - send a mesasge to the CO and/or the original reviewer.

This is cut and paste from the published "Cache Listing Requirements" for a traditional cache