So I bid on a BM Disk on Ebay and the seller got threatened

Luffliffloaf

Here's the scenario:

I like benchmarking. I am on Ebay a lot. Last week a saw a benchmark disk on Ebay.

The seller had found it in a box of junk in an old barn. I believe the barn belonged to his family.

He listed it on Ebay. I bid $20. I thought if I won it I would report it as destroyed and use it as a coaster.

Well apparently the seller received *several* emails about the item. Some were from an .edu domain and some were from a .gov domain apparently. Each email was basically a cease and desist letter, threatening legal action if the disk auction was not removed.

The guy panicked, deleted the emails and ended the auction.

I can only assume that someone doesn't want the disks to be sold, for others will go and steal them and try to sell them also.

But I wonder why people got mad about one was that obviously not in use and had been sitting around in a barn for 50 years?

I'm no expert. I have no clue.

Thanks,

Loomis

There is a fine and possible jail time for removing or distubing these marks. Don't know if the law is ever enforced or still valid. Some of the older survey disks have a statement about that.

I suppose someone took offense to selling these as they could become a object for collectors and then fools would be ripping them out to sell for a quick $$.

This is what gets me......The fact that if I decide I need to grade a corner of my property, and there is a benchmark there, and I decide to bulldoze it out anyway, I can get fined or jail time.

Yet in my town alone, about half of the BM's I search for, turn out to be long gone, destroyed by town workers during development, and never reported as destroyed. icon_frown.gif

Art

www.yankeetoys.org

www.BudBuilt.com

http://www.ttora-ne.mainpage.net/