Sign in to follow this  
Followers 1
ozarktracker

geocaching and APRS

I'm relatively new to ham radio (licenced in 8/09) and totally new to geocaching. Looking forward to getting started on the latter. At the same time, I'm discovering APRS. I'm wondering if there's a GPS unit out there that works well for the simple, paperless geocaching, and and also has some kind of port to hook up so that it can pass location info to a transceiver when I'm not using it for geocaching.

Thank you :anibad:

John

KF5CSW

Many manufacturers offer radios with NMEA interface for adding GPS data to their TNC-equipted radios.

http://www.kenwoodusa.com/Communications/A...Mobiles/RC-D710

The Kenwood D710 is the most popular one used for that purpose.

There are even handheld radios that have GPS accessories. Your best source for information is Ham Radio Outlet's catalog. http://hamradio.com/

If you have money to spend, I'm sure they will be happy to mail you a copy of their catalog.

I suggest you read my reply to "Newbie has Questions" about different brands of radios to make sure you get a good idea of the strong-weak points of the various brands.

You will want a GPS that has NMEA output for connecting to a Radio/TNC.