Jump to content

How to get rid of old Field Notes?


MIG2

Recommended Posts

I've tried the erase button on the log notes page many times....and it says "this cannot be undone!" but it manages to undo my erase each time I upload field notes. I do notice that the notes seen to be of a fairly recent vintage....is there some control page where you can tell the website how long to keep displaying old field notes????

Link to comment

Field notes are stored in a file X:\Garmin\geocache_visits.txt where X is your Garmin's drive letter. You need to delete (or rename) this file after you hav uploaded your field notes to the site successfully. This is assuming Garmin - DeLorme and Lowrance have different filename and location.

 

There is a "ignore before" option, but it's a little flaky.

 

This is what is currently happening:

 

Let's say it contains GC1000, GC1001 and GC1002.

 

You upload, you see 3 caches. You log them.

 

Next time you go caching, you find GC1003. In that fil, GC1003 is added to the end of th 3 caches.

 

You upload. You see 4 caches. You log the 4th, ask the site to nuke the rest. It is gone from the site, but still in your geocache_visits.txt file. The next time you find a cachee, it will be added to the end of this list as cache #5.

Edited by Chrysalides
Link to comment
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
×
×
  • Create New...