Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
oikoquest

An Educational program idea...

I am a student at the Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design. I am currently working on my Thesis work to be displayed in the 2010 MIAD Senior Exhibition. Broadly, my Senior project is the design of a recreational and educational program raising awareness about endangered species, conservation and environmental issues in the Midwest, through the use of Geocaching. My program ultimately aims to reconnect families with children and today's younger generations with nature.

(I have never heard of geocaching before, but I am completely intrigued and stoked to incorporate it into my passion for conservation!)

I established a 6 profiles of several Midwest species that are critically endangered, endangered, threatened, or rare and designed logbooks (one for each species) that dual as field guides for each cache. Each cache will be hidden in that species habitat. Also a large portion of what I'm doing is to inform on what geocaching is, because my audience may or may not have heard of it.

I'm posting here to gain feedback on my idea as well solutions to some technical questions I have:

I need advice on how to enter them as a series of caches, functioning under the same theme. So for example:

I am naming my program "Oikoquest," when I plant a cache... and someone searches "Oikoquest" online, I would like them see all 6 caches show up in the route.

1. Would my caches be considered a "multi-caches" if all of them are physical containers?

2. Would a "Group?" on Waymarking.com be more appropriate? (If each cache is located in that endangered animal's habitat the location is significant too, not just the cache)

3. Would Geocoins be a reasonable component?

4. Can I create my own geocoins (produce them physically) with a quantity under 50 and get a tracking code?

I would really really appreciate any suggestions or support.

Thanks so much for reading, I know this post was quite long winded.