Confused?

luvfrog74

I am basically a newbie... been around for a while but had a lapse in geocaching for family medical reasons but I am kinda confused about geocoins. I was under the impression that geocoins are just like TB's, just they were special coins rather than a personal object attached to a dog tag... but from reading the forums, it sounds like they are collectable too? How do you collect geocoins that are meant to be tracked? Also, I see people have personal geocoins... do you have some made to track & to keep? Do they all have the same track #? How does one go about getting their own geocoin or into collecting/trading them? I know, a lot of questions but like I said, I'm kinda confused. I have never found a geocoin in a cache yet that I know of but how do you know if it's a collectable or if it is only for tracking? Thanks to all who help with my many questions <_<

There are two kinds of geocoins,

NonTrackable, and

Trackable

NonTrackable are just what they say, usually left as swag for people to trade later, or used in trades by collectors.

Then there are the Trackables. They perform just like Travel Bugs. The reason you see people collecting these is that they are collecting (usually)unactivated coins through purchases and trades, or buy having their own minted.

The Activated Trackable Coins you find in Caches are not meant to be collected.

Thank you for taking the time to learn about these before just starting a collection of traveling coins!!

Edited by WRITE SHOP ROBERT

You seem to have the points right, but not how it works.

Trackable geocoins are supposed to work just like travel bugs, when they are activated and released.

Non trackable geocoins are made as signature items, and used for trading, collecting and cache swag.

Some people collect them and don't activate or release them, and put them in a binder, display case, bank vault, safety deposit box.

Some people activate them, release them and hope for the best.