Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
scwarrior1

Teaching geocaching to HS seniors

I am new to geocaching myself and expect my GPS to arrive any day. I will explore the resources I have found on this site (thank you!) and will embark with my husband to learn the sport firsthand. I attended a conference in November where I learned about this for the first time. I was immediately hooked and have decided to introduce the sport to my students - 19 HS seniors, nearly all boys. My question is: Is there a HS level curriculum already in place? If not, what suggestions do you have for me to get things started? We will have 90 minute classes where students will be allowed to drive to caches around town. I am anxious to hear from those of you with experience! Thanks! :)

I know there is a powerpoint out there that teaches you about geocaching... but as far as an actual curriculum goes? I haven't heard of one... I'm glad you enjoy caching and welcome to the club! ha ha I wish i could take a Geocaching class in highschool :)

I am new to geocaching myself and expect my GPS to arrive any day. I will explore the resources I have found on this site (thank you!) and will embark with my husband to learn the sport firsthand. I attended a conference in November where I learned about this for the first time. I was immediately hooked and have decided to introduce the sport to my students - 19 HS seniors, nearly all boys. My question is: Is there a HS level curriculum already in place? If not, what suggestions do you have for me to get things started? We will have 90 minute classes where students will be allowed to drive to caches around town. I am anxious to hear from those of you with experience! Thanks! :)

Since you havent found many yet yourself

Find someone local that has found a bunch of caches.

It shouldnt be hard look at local logs until you recognize some of the names then email them.