CITO in the ADK

swizzle

Hi all. I'm fairly new to the idea of CITO. I've done a couple caches that were set up as CITO caches and I try to do my fair share around all of my cache spots. I'm in the process of starting a new geocaching group that would partially specialize in CITO in the ADK (Adirondacks region of NY). Any help at all on making the perfect CITO cache and hosting CITO events would be great. I plan on starting around the GSL (Great Sacandaga Lake), and then working into the backwoods areas. My idea as of right now is to go to Wally World and get as many free film cans as I can possibly grab. Cram a shopping bag into each one and mark it CITO. I think I can get more bags into the cache container this way as well as reducing the amount of maintance on each cache which would allow me to maximize the amount of caches that I can maintain in a given year. If I can get say a dozen active caching members to do the same spread through the adirondacks then I see 100 and maybe even 200 active CITO caches possible as well as CITO events that we could set up and host as well. I would also like to consider a CITO meter for our profile. It would simply be a counter for how much trash we remove each year. 153 shopping bags, 25 garbage bags, 2 couchs and a microwave. That sort of thing. A live counter that is added to every time someone removes a bag full from our regular CITO caches as well as our CITO events. Has anyone done this before? Any help on how to set up a CITO event and the local officals to contact as well as media to promote CITO in the ADK would be great. Thanx for reading. Swizzle

All in all very few cachers CITO on caches. (At least in my area.)

Any help on how to set up a CITO event and the local officals to contact as well as media to promote CITO in the ADK would be great. Thanx for reading. Swizzle