Benchmark hunting information

aclakey

I am a Engineer who has quite a bit of survey experience as well. I started looking at the benchmark information in my area and I am anxious to revisit and post my finds. It is interesting that I have visited and used many benchmarks on the list for my local area that have not been "published" as visited. Is there a way to load a GPX file with Mapsource, like receiving a query and uploading? Secondly I am getting a PN-40 soon and was wondering what that process would be. Thanks for the information.

I'll take a stab, I'm sure the more experienced hunters will jump in. There are several if not many topics/threads on this forum answering this and it has been suggested that the concise info be pinned to the forum.

I don't think there is any way to get anything but a .loc file from GC.com for benchmarks - I just dropped a .loc file in mapsource and it took it but all you get is the coordinates.

I think everyone here pretty much starts with the NGS datasheets which can be obtained straight from the NGS. Click the DATASHEET button - there are several options to search by.

Another cool way to get datasheets is from this NGS BENCHMARK VIEWER.

County-wide files can also be obtained at Holoscenes.com.

Using the first two methods above, you may end up with text info in a browser window - just copy everything, paste into notepad and save with a .dat extension.

There are at least two ways to turn the NGS datasheets (with as much info as you need/want) into gpx files:

NGS>>GPX and

NGSREAD

There are threads/topics in this forum discussing both of these datasheet converters.

Except for the NGS link all of the "tools" above come from people that frequent this forum often.

Check out Holoscenes Benchmark Hunting Wiki.

A lot of us use GSAK - there is a GSAK macro that will export to a PN-40.

I don't have a PN-40, but shirley :D you can just copy a gpx file right to it with windows explorer or the mac equivalent.