Interest in a possible CITO event in Tulsa OK?

Hello! I'm Kim and I'm new to geocaching, but thought geocachers in the Tulsa area might be interested in setting up a CITO event in association with the Crow Creek Water Festival and 15th Annual Creek Cleanup.

My husband is an Environmental Monitor for the city of Tulsa and is an Earth Team Volunteer for the Tulsa County Conservation District. He got this newsletter in the mail and I immediately thought this might be something geocachers would like to be a part of.

http://tulsacountyconservationdistrict.org/tclspring09.pdf

See page 2 of the document. Here is some of the info:

We are looking for volunteers, agencies, groups, nonprofits, earth friendly vendors,

Campfire, Girl Scout and Boy Scout troops who are interested in being a

part of our first ever Crow Creek Water Festival and 15 Annual Creek Cleanup.

We will have activities for the kids, educational booths, vendor booths, a run,

and a creek cleanup on Crow Creek. If you or your group does outreach education,

activities, or would be interested in having a booth, please call 280-1595 or

email us at tulsaccd@conservation.ok.gov. We are working to secure corporate

sponsorships. Spread the word in Tulsa about your group!

What do you think? I've been to these creek cleanups before and they are really fun.

Kim

cyber-mom

Welcome cyber-mom,

This is a lovely idea, however, if you read the Cache placement guidelines, it says this about CITO events:

CITO Event Caches

The idea of Cache In Trash Out (CITO) came about late in the year 2000 as a way for geocachers to contribute to the beautification of our local parks and lands. Read more information about the CITO program.