Free Nova Scotia 1:10 000 Topo Maps

NorthernChinook

The Nova Scotia government has made free 1:10 000 topo maps available here, the site only works with Internet Explore 6 or higher :rolleyes:

You can log in as a guest but the preview window and what you download are 2 different things as far a detail is concerned.

From their website:-

June 15, 2007 - As of today, the full version of the 1:10 000 Nova Scotia Topographic Database Series (including buildings) is free to download. The DataLocator is your tool for downloading free 1:10,000 topographic data from the Nova Scotia Topographic Database. Simply Sign up for a free account and login. We now provide data in a variety of new formats and projections. Formats now available include, ESRI Shape (SHP), MapInfo (MIF), AutoCAD (DXF) as well as Geography Markup Language (GML). These formats are available in both the UTM NAD83 (CSRS) as well as MTM ATS77 projections.

I downloaded a few maps of my local area and as a total newbe had a lot of fun creating a half decent map using shapfiles, the is a lot of detail on these maps but one thing is lacking, place names, the maps are of limited use without names.

This is probably something in my ignorance as a newbe that I am doing, I would really appreciated it if one of the experts with a free moment would take a look.

So far I have printed them out added the place names by hand where needed and a scale, they have been quite useful for hiking but this method would be a pain in the you know where, if one moved around a lot.

If this can be fixed the next project will be figuring out how to get them into a usable form to work in a GPS

The Nova Scotia government has made free 1:10 000 topo maps available here, the site only works with Internet Explore 6 or higher :o

You can log in as a guest but the preview window and what you download are 2 different things as far a detail is concerned.

From their website:-