May be dumb question....

kjohn73

I am new to geocaching. I have only 5 finds and 1 hide. Big numbers aren't in the books for me, but I am intrigued by the many different avenues of "pursuit" that this game offers. I enjoy reading the forums and have joined a few other GEO forums. Here's the question... (drum roll, please)

Would it be reasonable to place a decent book, as in a good novel/pocketbook/hardcover in a cache? I will be retiring (ha!) to my home town and will be able to maintain some easy finds, along the Trans-Canada Highway in eastern Saskatchewan. People who are travelling aren't always interested in climbing Mount Everest to find a cache... are they?

Give me your thoughts and suggestions on this whiz bang idea. Any twists or other swag/booty ideas are welcome, too.

Thanks for any replies.

kjohn73

You will find that certain swag appeals to certain people. So I would say go for it. I am sure someone will appreciate it and may even pass it on when they are done, like a Travel Bug, not that would be neat.

It would have to be well sealed, but you read it and pass it on. People may even keep a look out for it.

It's a good idea. If you like trading books you may want to check this site out.

I have a Bookcrossing account and only found out about it when I discovered a registered Bookcrossing book in one of our caches.

Here in U.K. there are several caches which have been set up exclusively to accept any books as "swag" - It's a nice variation on the game.

MrsB <_<