Kind of found my First

Woodstramp

http://www.geocaching.com/mark/details.aspx?PID=DH0212

I'm new to GPS and have tried several times to find listed geocaches. I've yet to find one, so I thought I'd try to find a benchmark to check if my Explorist 400 is accurate enough for GCing. Benchmarks being something more concrete, that is. I figured that finding that spot would be easier than finding a cammoed 35 mm film can.

Above is the URL for a benchmark I tried to locate this afternoon. It is local and I know where the school in the background is.

My Magellan's compass but me right near the culvert in the photo. From 200 feet the compass pointed right to the culvert. Standing exactly from where the bottom pic was taken (in the culvert ditch) my GPS was telling me that I was off about 50 feet. I never saw the benchmark disc. I think it's covered by grass/road dirt again. Judging from the other guy's notes and pics the disc is above the culvert pipe embedded in the concrete. I know that my Magellan doesn't have WAAS and that is a handicap, but is 50 feet decent accuracy for Geocaching?

Is 50 feet "close" compared to veteran cacher's standards?

The benchmark that you used to check the accuracy of your GPSr only had scaled location coordinates. Those are normally off by 100 feet or more.

Try using THIS benchmark that has been previously found and has adjusted location coordinates. Your GPSr should put you within 10 feet of the actual mark.

For finding caches any GPSr that gets you within 25 to 30 of the cache is good. Some cachers don't do a very good job of getting accurate coordinates for their caches, so you still need to look for the most likely hiding places when caching. For benchmarks with scaled coordinates it is necessary to follow the written description to find the benchmark.

Good luck.

John

Hi, Woodstramp,