Teaching geocaching & local heritage

Impson
Followers 2

Below is a message I sent to geocaching.com headquarters this morning, but don't want to wait for the 2 weeks for a little feedback. Can anyone please respond?

"I'm a professor of tourism at Missouri State University, Springfield, Missouri. Last year, I was challenged by 2 community leaders to try to promote local heritage tourism. I've been involved with local heritage tourism in our community myself for 20 years. Our community is loaded with many heritage sites (railroad, Civil War, early commerce, Black history, etc.), but they're not well known yet. At about the same time, I learned about geocaching. Instantly, the two seemed like a perfect marriage. My big problem was finding enough help to do what I want to do. Another big problem to solve is that mostly older people enjoy local history. We want to get younger people involved. Then, it dawned on me that I might be able to get elementary school kids involved . . . in technology, the geocaching sport, local history, and getting kids outdoors.

It took a year to get just 18 Garmin eTrex Legends together by begging. Then, I wrote a school district foundation grant proposal, introduced it to a local at-risk elementary school principal and 2 teachers who tweaked it a bit, submitted, and got $5,000 to buy 32 more units, batteries & chargers. I realized most at-risk elementary schools are located within walking distance of many local history sites (the older part of town).