Paperless Caching (don't know where to begin)

churchrules

Looking to start paperless caching and not sure where to start. I've been looking on Ebay for a Palm or Pocket PC and I'm not sure which is easier to use or better to use? I have no experience with either Palms or Pocket PCs, but I would like to use the easiest and hopefully cheapest method.

If you have any experience in paperless caching, please help.

I use a Palm (m500). It's a little slow, but works great. And I'm fairly certain Palm is cheaper than PocketPC. Whatever you get, make sure to get a USB interface cable (serial ports are disappearing from computers. A converter is a pain, and an additional expense). Also, I know Palms work great on Windows 2000 and XP. Supposedly there have been issues with some Palms on Vista (drivers not available?). If you have Windows Vista, check compatibility for any older device you are interested in. I don't remember reading about any problems between Vista and PocketPC. Hopefully a PocketPC user will add some info.

Palm would most probably be cheaper to obtain and easier to use than a pocket PC. Like stated above, get one with a serial cable only if your computer so equipped, the adapter cord costs about $20 and can start port recognition problems in your computer, depending on the drivers. USB if at all possible, usually the M500 series and newer will be so equipped.

After getting your Palm, go to here to check for any updates and get the hot sync program on your computer. Then, you will need a program on the Palm to organize your cache info, I use Cachemate, which will cost you $8 US.

If you don't already have GSAK or EasyGPS, you may want one of these on your computer to assist with filtering and organizing there. Either will take your filtered set of caches and send them seamlessly to your hot sync program.