What's your opinion of this one?

Hoosier_Daddy

I have been a surveyor for years now, but only relatively recently have I gotten into hunting for benchmarks officially like many of the members of this forum. I recently found this one http://www.geocaching.com/mark/details.aspx?PID=KA0253 , but as you can see from my posts, I have a few questions as to whether this disk is still reliable.

I would be interested to get the opinion of a few others on this forum regarding disk D43.

This disk has been set vertically in the wall of an old train station. This is the first time that I have come across one of these, though I have seen pictures elsewhere on this forum, of course. I found myself wondering why anyone would set a vertical benchmark this way instead of horizontally. It seems to me that having a mark set this way is just asking for a bad reading. My rodman stuck a pocketknife in the groove and set the level rod on the blade to get a reading, and that worked just fine for the nature of the work we were performing. If I were doing something where more accuracy was required, I am not so sure that I would trust the stability and levelness of a knife blade... What was the reason for setting a bench this way, and what is/was the reccommended method of getting a good reading off one?

I'm not a surveyor, but it seems to me that putting the mark on the wall keeps it off the floor / ground, which is vulnerable to re-modeling: new concrete, new ground levels, etc. In fact, your own measurements (nicely done, BTW) show that the ground level has changed. Hmmmm... if the mark was on the ground, would it have been destroyed? Maybe.

Rambling thoughts:

If the building has not been totally reconstructed and pieces of stone moved around, the sidewalk could never have been only 1 foot below the disk because that would put the window at a ridiculous height.

Can you blow up the old picture and compare features to determine how high the window was back then?