? re: Find Caches Along a Route

PezLori

I am brand new to all of this. I've done a lot of reading and have a Garmin and a PDA and I have GSAK and Cachemate and I think I'm ready to go. However there's something I can't figure out. I did a PQ for a route - we're heading up to Oregon from Central CA. In the "preview PQ" screen and on GSAK, the caches don't seem to appear in any particular order. How do I make them show up in order, from the beginning of my trip to the end? I can't seem to find a way, but I have a feeling it's obvious. Or something.

Thanks in advance!

~Lori

I am brand new to all of this. I've done a lot of reading and have a Garmin and a PDA and I have GSAK and Cachemate and I think I'm ready to go. However there's something I can't figure out. I did a PQ for a route - we're heading up to Oregon from Central CA. In the "preview PQ" screen and on GSAK, the caches don't seem to appear in any particular order. How do I make them show up in order, from the beginning of my trip to the end? I can't seem to find a way, but I have a feeling it's obvious. Or something.

Thanks in advance!

~Lori

You can also pick a cache and then click on top menu "Centre Point." Once that pops down select "Current waypoint" to sort the caches that are closest to that one. Cachemate also allows to to sort caches by nearest. But normally you would be using your GPS on a trip, so you can see which caches are closest just by looking at the GPS.

For the geek-minded:

GSAK also has a macro that I stumbled on here that can take a filtered list of caches on GSAK (and the selected one is the starting point) and sort them by which one is the next closest.

I tried it on a radial search and it created a nice spiral effect.

Edited by Markwell