Sign in to follow this  
Followers 1
Back Quackers

Cache site for Hams Only?

My wife and I have been geocaching for just over 5 years. From the very start I thought this would be a good hobby to combine with Ham Radio but wasn't able to stir up much interest with my ham friends. Most don't get outdoors much anymore.

Anyway, the XYL and I have always thought it would be fun to put up a cache site for Hams only. To make an entry in the cache site logbook you would have to make a QSO and log the QSO in the log book. Any band, any mode.

Any thoughts on this?????

The BackQuackers

W7HLO & KE7HMU

I thought the same thing. My idea was to have the operator figure out a simple puzzle in order to get a correct radio frequency. Then they would use some dtmf tones to play a recording. The recording would tell the final coord's.. I'm just wondering what kinda puzzle to use ????

Any ideas??

Chris KA7CJH

If a cache site for Non Hams that can only be logged by non hams is a good idea, then I think you are truly on to something.

If not, then it's probably a bad idea.

I think its a great idea!!! It would be good if there was a way everybody across the country could participate. Using a local repeater is good and the dtmf tones is an awesome idea, but then how many participants would you get. Now if you used echolink or something like that, you could get some more involvement.

And for the non-hams, they could find a ham to help them communicate. I was thinking of figuring out clues that lead to a website, and on the website was a recording that played a morse code file which gives you the next steps. I dont know what would be at the end of the rainbow, I haven't thought that far ahead yet...

What other ideas are floating around out there???

KE5EHZ