Is bigger really better (or even necessary)? Memory issue...

ehuesman

As I stated in my other post (look nearby), I'm new to this and trying to decide between a couple GPSrs (new Vista Cx or used 60CS). My question here is how much memory is everyone actually using for caching? I know its human nature to do the "bigger is better" thing, but geocaching.com recommended getting a GPSr with 8MB of memory if you are going to load maps (which I will). I thought that I would be sitting pretty if I got an old Vista with 24MB, but find myself getting caught up in thinking the upgradeable memory in the new series is a "must". Is it? Can't I just load a map as needed and then if I am going to another part of the state (or world), just unload it and put the new map on? How much memory does a typical topo map use? I need some solid advice on this. Thanks.

I have the Vista C and for the area I cache in, 24 MB is more than enough.

When I took a few road trips to Colorado, I loaded the maps along the routes I thought I would be taking. A couple of times, I fell off the map, but was no worse for wear. :lol:

I had my laptop with me, so I could put new maps on the Vista C, if needed. With the USB connection, it doesn't take long to put a new Mapset on the GPSr.

I use the added memory card in my 76CSx for more than just maps. Sure, it's great to have a ton of maps but normally I don't need them all. I'm taking a multi-state trip in July though and it will be great to have street-level maps for all the states completely loaded.