Google Earth

frankj3

When I input my home address in Google Earth, it finds my street OK but lists my home at the south end of the street when I live on the north end. That's about 1/8 mile difference.

I have not knowingly made any changes in my settings on GE so how can I get it to show my correct location?

I have version 4.0.2722 installed on my PC. There are no updates available from GE.

I hear wonderful things about GE but I'm a little concerned about the accuracy.

Any help would be appreciated.

Just in case you couldn't tell ------- I'm a newbie!!

Frankj3 (Texas bred and born!)

When I input my home address in Google Earth, it finds my street OK but lists my home at the south end of the street when I live on the north end. That's about 1/8 mile difference.

6-700 feet of accuracy from a geocoded address is actually well within the limits of geocoding precision.

I have not knowingly made any changes in my settings on GE so how can I get it to show my correct location?
If you want an exact location, enter a latititude/longitude pair. In most cases that'll get you within a few dozen feet.

It's not like there's a database of lat/lons for every mailbox on the planet. Programs know the lat/long of an intersection and the closest house it 100 main street and they may know the lat /long for a house that's ten blocks away where the nearest house is 999 main street - they may not unreasonably deduce that 500 main street is half way between those pairs.

This, of course, works very well in areas where houses have equal density on equally sized lots with equally distributed house numbers - which is a very tiny subset of the Real World.