Benchmark hunting in Wisconsin

talysarn

To all Wisconsin Geocache seekers,

The Wisconsin State Cartographer's Office (SCO) has a web page entirely devoted to locating benchmarks in Wisconsin. It contails NGS data as well as old USGS benchmarks dating back to the 1930's. I have found many that have been long described as lost. My best example is in Barron County where a scribed x in the bottom step of steps leading to a house was described as lost. I was able to locate the foundation of the house (which was gone) and was also able to locate the steps. I cleared away about 3 inches of dirt and found the bottom step. The benchmark was still there. As I am a land surveyor, I used survey-grade GPS to tie into the mark from a local First Order Horizontal and Vertical. I found the mark within 1/8" of it's published value. The mark was set in the '30s, but had not be visited or seen for over fifty years. Be diligent. Many are still around. When looking for them, think of what the area used to be like and how things were described. Anyway, here is the link.....

http://sco.wisc.edu/geocat/index.php

Click on the button "Launch Control Finder" and just follow the instructions. You can also email the SCO if you have found a long lost mark or have discovered one that is long gone. They find it extremely helpful for the public to help with this endeavor.

P.S. they are also working on USPLSS corners in the same finder style format, if you've got more of a land surveying attitude.

Question: This mark that you are talking about ... is it only in the particular areas you found it or is it a type of mark that was used primarily during that time period?