True North or Magnetic North?

Hardman

Hi there, I'm a newbie to GPS.

I have recently purchased a Garmin Etrex and have been studing GPS, mapping as well as Geacaching. Today I found my 1st Geocache which was great and most enjoyable.

I have a question though which hopefully someone can answer.

When using my GPS with UTM topo maps, should it be set for "true north" and by the same token, when using it alone in the field without any maps, should it set to "Magnetic north"?

Thanks

The Hardman

I'd say grid north if its available.

And then magnetic if you were with other people with magnetic compasses, other wise its personal preference.

I just got a gps compass and it has a declination scale on it to adjust it to true north based on location. From the literature that comes with it I think they said most maps are drawn using true north. Here is the link to the compass I got: http://www.sierratradingpost.com/p/,98634_...se-Compass.html . I plan on learning how to navigate with it as a back up. When you think about the early explorers it's amazing what they accomplished using so little..

Ray

Hi there, I'm a newbie to GPS.

I have recently purchased a Garmin Etrex and have been studing GPS, mapping as well as Geacaching. Today I found my 1st Geocache which was great and most enjoyable.

I have a question though which hopefully someone can answer.

When using my GPS with UTM topo maps, should it be set for "true north" and by the same token, when using it alone in the field without any maps, should it set to "Magnetic north"?

That is a common question. The short answer is the true vs. magnetic setting doesn't affect what coordinates the GPS gives you. It only affects directions like bearing, course etc.