Diversity in Geocaching?

CelticFC

Hello everyone. First I must say that I am fully aware that there may have been discussions like this in the past, but I am relatively new to Geocaching and I am simply curious. I attended the 2006 Fall Picnic here in Indiana this past weekend and I had a great time. I really didn't know what to expect and quite frankly, I didn't know if I would fit in. Being a black man, I had people tell me all sorts of things growing up. However, I am more than impressed at the fact that even though I was the only black person there (to my knowledge), I never felt left out, like a token, or shunned in any way...I was a cacher.

However, I am curious about two things: 1) are there other cachers of color out there in Indiana and 2) what can I do to help raise awareness in the minority communities about this awesome sport? Thank you, my friends for the love and acceptance I felt this past weekend. I am anxiously awaiting any advice, responses, or thoughts :(

CelticFC

We are a rather monochromatic group but very diverse otherwise. As you've probably noticed there is a healthy spread of ages and economic levels in geocaching but racially we tend towrds the bleachy side of the scale.

I present myself as an example, I'm as white as the driven slush but have to work two or more jobs to keep going. I cache when I can with my little yellow eTrex held together with electrical tape. I sometimes go caching with folks who have more invested in their dashboard than I have in my home. Such is the nature of this game but it is still enjoyable at almost any economic level.

You've probably noticed that physically we cover all ages and all body types. For some of us caching is the most exercise we can get, for others a 20-mile hike uphill both ways in the snow while fighting grizzlies is a normal day in the park.