Around the World in 90 Minutes!

I am currently writing a satellite observing/satellite orbit curriculum for graduate credit so I must admit that that was my bias when creating the space chase game that I’ve called Around the World in 90 Minutes!

I’m a teacher that is sold on geocaching and astronomy and geology and biology and photography and about everything else I can get to between the teachings of five high school science subjects every day. I do believe that not only can this rather unique Waymarking Game reach many geocachers that are willing to roll up their sleeves and conquer the task at hand but it can also serve to lure more teachers and students into the fold as well.

Our world could use a math/science shot in the arm and this game may offer a little bit of that badly needed serum. Spatial reasoning, orbital velocity, orbital planes, latitude and longitude, geography, population densities, communication skills required to win the corporation of others, space science and more could be introduced by creative educators wishing to go the extra mile with this. Just in figuring out what will work and what won’t I've learned a whole lot! One could make it much more challenging by coordinating participants in multiple locations across a thousand miles or along a line of sight that will result in the ISS crossing near the zenith for each member, or even across the moon! I have a friend that lives over 700 miles from me that saw the ISS cross the disc of the sun minutes after I observed the same event from my hometown! With cell phone technology one person can communicate with another that’s far away playing the same game live. I’ve done it. It’s cool!! Within wireless computer range chat would work too.