Sign in to follow this  
Followers 3
ejla

Geocaching Without Gps?

Hi there,

I am new to all this, and as yet have not purchased a GPS. I am dying to get started, so my question is, is it possible to go geocaching without a GPS? and if so, how?

Many thanks

I think it is possible, get yourself a map or the area you want to go caching in and read the SJ grid references on the cache pages, don't know how close you will get to caches your looking for though. You may find it difficult doing multis without some sort of tool to convert the WSG84 co-ordinates to the SJ ones.

I stand to be corrected. :anitongue:

Possible but difficult. We did our first few caches plotting the 10-figure National Grid refs on OS 1:25k maps which should take you within, say, 50m of the cache site. Not brilliant but not much worse than a GPS under heavy tree cover. If it's a regular cache in a likely spot, a search should locate it, but if it's a micro cunningly concealed you need the precision of a GPS reading. I think, sooner or later, you'll want a GPS receiver! We bought a basic Garmin Etrex & haven't looked back since.

I think it depends on the cache. The way I would probably do it is to use Google Earth (or Google Maps with the satellite view)... but again it depends on the resolution of the maps in your area. A lot of traditional rural caches are hidden near an obvious tree or bush - with open fields around.

If the hints are helpful you've got a good chance of finding it.

If all this fails then you could post a note on the Adopt a Newbie thread - you get to meet other people and borrow their GPS :anitongue:

But from the sounds of it - you want to go out today!! :grin:

We started without a GPS and just used Google Maps to plot the co-ordinates before setting off. It was very limiting as you could only do the caches which were near obvious features on the map or ones where the clues were obviously enough to find the cache if you looked hard enough.