Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Nuttycomputer

National Traffic System

I'm a lonely technician Ham in the state of Utah. One of the only ones left that have a Packet station still set up...

With my background of computers I found this to be one of the funnest modes to work with but our biggest BBS in Utah that I know of doesn't seem to be connected to the NTS.

Leading to my question... Is NTS being pretty much extinct everywhere else or do some of you hams still have it where your at? Is Packet also extinct?

We in Colo still have a Traffic net every nite. I don't hear much traffic being passed though. I was thinking about putting a cache together that had to do with passing traffic on the service. Just to give those guys something to do. Not sure how to do it yet though :) As for packet I have never done it. I know there are a few guys here that still mess with it on HF. With so much to do on Ham these days I never thought about it.

We in Colo still have a Traffic net every nite. I don't hear much traffic being passed though. I was thinking about putting a cache together that had to do with passing traffic on the service. Just to give those guys something to do. Not sure how to do it yet though ;) As for packet I have never done it. I know there are a few guys here that still mess with it on HF. With so much to do on Ham these days I never thought about it.

You could just copy this one!

--Marky

We also have a daily VHF traffic net here in the Portland OR area. Not much real traffic, mostly spam/junk mail messages from a couple of stations back east (license renewals, welcome to ham radio, that sort of thing). The traffic comes in on HF, and there are multiple daily HF traffic nets, both voice and CW.

As for packet, VHF packet is pretty widespread out here. Not used a lot for NTS traffic, but definitely emphasized for the emcomm folks.

cul es 73,

Wayne K7EX