"cachetiquette"

bblake

Hi -- another newbie here...

So far we've found two very easy virtual caches and logged the finds. Not sure about one thing regarding virtual caches -- both said I had to email them something to receive credit, but there was nothing to keep me from logging them on the site. Didn't get a response from one owner, and the email came back as undeliverable to the other one ("BHI Anniversary"). Are we on the "honor system" with virtual caches like this, or all of them, for that matter?

I'm planning on hunting some traditional caches in my area this weekend, but I'm not sure what I'm expected to take... Do you normally take everything but the log book and such, and leave an equal number of items, or what? Just wondering what the etiquette is regarding this before getting started.

Are cache owners expected to restock their cache if they take all your goodies and leave a bunch of broken McDonald's toys? I have a location planned, have the container, the contents, title, coords, etc. all planned out for my first hide, but figure it will be best to find a few first before taking on the responsibility of maintaining one.

I have read most of the FAQs on getting started but I guess you have to "play" for a while to see how it really works.

Thanks for any comments or suggestions (the helpful kind, I hope) :ph34r:

bblake

Didn't get a response from one owner, and the email came back as undeliverable to the other one ("BHI Anniversary"). Are we on the "honor system" with virtual caches like this, or all of them, for that matter?

I'd say yes, if the owner is not available to verify your find we would have to take your word on it.

Do you normally take everything but the log book and such, and leave an equal number of items, or what? Just wondering what the etiquette is regarding this before getting started.