Caution ! Heads Up !

BoGoes

Hi

I am new to this, but I like it and so do my kids. We always geocache together and what we like is being taken off the beaten path. But I just became away that where I live, in New York State ( Long Island) there are steel jawed leg hold traps located on state parks. The DEC states that it is legal to place these in most state parks and that they don't keep track of their location. This would cause significant harm to a child or an adult if stepped on. A dog on Long Island was just killed by one see this web link http://www.newsday.com/news/local/longisla...0,6695208.story

Just for your information!

regards BoGoes

A barbaric forum of entertainment (in todays world) that has yet to be eliminated by civilized humans. Maybe steel leg traps had a useful purpose in history but they simply are not needed in the 21st century. Steel leg traps are an extremely cruel form of animal capture and should be illegal.

And please save the animal wacko carp ... I've been an NRA member for over 10 years and have hunted or been involved with hunting almost my entire life. Steel leg traps are used by lazy under-educated dipsticks that don't mind being creul to animals.

When I hunt, I only harvest what my family can consume in a reasonable time period. When hunting, I believe the animal should be put down instantly or as quickly as possible. Most people who use steel leg traps are too lazy to hunt any other way.

I encountered a trap a while back and posted in the forums, too.

Since then I have also spoken to some others with a little more knowledge of trapping. From these conversations, I have come to believe that the danger to humans (with possible exception of small children) of the traps normally used (at least in Indiana) is somewhat overrated.