Proposal: Dive Sites

Would this make a good category?

I had planned to post a dive site I visited recently under the "shipwreck" category, but after consideration decided it wouldn't fit because the boat was intentionally sunk for divers. The "Swimming Hole" category already exists, but many sites wouldn't fit, since they can be out in the ocean or just off the shore, at places most people wouldn't want to just be swimming.

It's an excellent category. What kind of variables would you see in this category?

(I have no scuba experience, so this may not be useful)

For example, I found a location that shows artificial reef locations off the coast of South Carolina. It looks like things are intentionally sunk for scuba divers to check out.

Minimum Water depth (in feet)

Maximum Water depth (in feet)

Has shipwrecks? y/n

Has reef? y/n

water type (fresh/salt)

Access (boat/dock/shore)

Type (lake/river/ocean/quarry/cave)

Minimum Water depth (in feet)

Maximum Water depth (in feet)

Has shipwrecks? y/n

Has reef? y/n

water type (fresh/salt)

Access (boat/dock/shore)

Type (lake/river/ocean/quarry/cave)

That's a pretty good list. Two others I can think of off the top of my head are:

1) visibility (although this can vary by day or season): terrible [0-10 feet], poor [10-25 feet], fair [25-40 feet], good [40-60 feet], excellent [60+ feet]

2)underwater life (fish, turtles, manatees, etc).

Maybe "Shipwreck" could be expanded to something more general like "wreck" or "sunken object" to include planes, cars, busses, etc.

Should one of the requirements for adding a waymark needs to be actually diving at the site (or having dove there in the past), not just visiting? This would keep folks from posting random lakes and saying, "that water looks interesting, I bet someone could dive there." Maybe snorkeling would fit the category also, since many shallow water sites are frequented by snorkelers as well.