Newbie Requests Winter Caching Advice

n2AZ

I am a newbie who just stumbled across geocaching less than 48 hours ago. I am waiting for my first GPS, a Lawrence iFinder Hunt to arrive, then I’ll be off. I am excited about looking for the local caches but I’m already thinking of where to place my own.

My specific question is what about Midwest winters? The first place I thought of is almost good enough to be a virtual cache but only May-Sept even though it would be accessible all winter, there’d really be no point in coming in winter. The other more traditional ideas I have the opposite problem with - if I hike off a trail and drop the thing in the woods or a meadow, won’t everyone easily be able to find it just from the obvious tracks in the snow? I can’t see anyway around that last one. Every location I think up seems it’d be either good in winter or summer but not both. I have some awesome ideas on places to put them in winter that would actually be much harder to get to in summer! I wish I could just do seasonal caches.

Any advice from the more experienced?

Lastly, I am thinking of drainpipe with caps for the containers but will the caps fit well enough just pressed on? I’ve gotten together swag and have it all bagged up but it seems like it’d still get moist and icky from the temperature changes alone.

Thanks for any help you can give me. I am really looking forward to it! - Lauren

:o:D

What most people do for winter caches is that once they found it, they just take the extra time to make a few false trails and false stops all around the area. and most of the time anyway, those false tracks will be done anyway since you are searching for the cache too, and making tracks all over the place. for the container's choice, the only thing I could recommend would be to make it fully waterproof, (like able to be underwater and not leak), that will save you a lot of time on the long run for cache maintenance.

hope this helps a bit

Kingquad