Gps In Motocycle Helmets

flir67

"As soon as you take your eyes off the road, you're potentially causing a hazard," Tucker says.

The helmet is fitted with a small display unit, measuring approximately 2.5cm x 2cm, which has an LCD screen and can be seen to the left of the wearer's peripheral vision.

The guy is talking out both sides of his face. You don't take you eyes off the road, but have to look left to see the display? :huh:

Personally, I'll stick to looking down to see my controls, thank you.

:huh: As a CCRyder instructor I would be forced to condemn this idea right off the starting line.

It totally disrupts the concept of riding with 100% concentration and 60% of your riding ability.

Even a heads up display can make you miss the idiot who is about to t-bone or tailgate your butt while it's hanging out in the wind. :cry:

Someone (or everyone) is missing the point. I don't know exactly where they have the display mounted, "to the left of the wearer's peripheral vision" sounds like it is out of view. But you don't want the display on top of your normal view of the road. However a transparent display at the bottom of the windshield in cars has been shown to be much less distracting than the normal instrument panel.

In cars they project the image by reflecting it off the windshield so that it appears to be outside, just over the hood of the car. I don't think a similar display on a motorcycle helmet would be any worse and possibly better since it will move with the helmet and so will be easy to distinguish from an outside view.

I don't think this display will be any more distracting than a GPS mounted on the handlebars and is likely much less distracting.

Why knock it before you have tried it???