Confused on waypoint alphanumerics on cache "details"

Guest buckascott

Guest buckascott

In the "details" section of individual caches, there is a line referring to a helpful waypoint to use, such as "Use Waypoint: GC59E." I've been using a GPS for a few years, and while I certainly know what a waypoint is, I'm totally confused about what the alphanumeric notation "GC59E" would be referring to in this case. Can anyone fill me in?

Scott

Guest White Rabbit

I'm really new to this. I was very confused by those, but the way I understand them is just a way to classify them. Each Geocaching.com cache seems to have it's own GC---- number to it, just so you can find it easier on your GPS when looking at it or referring to a certain cache. So instead of saying, I found the "No Thanks, I'm Just Browsing" cache, you can say, "I found cache GCE44". That's just how I understood it though, I'm sure that I'm probably wrong.

Guest Lou C

quote:
Originally posted by buckascott:

... I'm totally confused about what the alphanumeric notation "GC59E" would be referring to in this case. Can anyone fill me in?

Every geocache has a unique ID number. When you are viewing the cache page, notice in the address "ID=xxxx". The ID number of the cache you mention should be 1438. To save space and allow a 6-character name to be entered in a GPS receiver, the ID number is converted to a 4-character hexadecimal code. That 4-character code consists of numbers and letters and follows the "GC" in the name. In your case, 1438 decimal = 59E hex. So the cache you mention has the waypoint name "GC59E".

If you are a computer programmer at the bits and bytes level, you probably already know the encoding scheme. If you are not, the scheme is just a way of encoding up to 65536 cache IDs with 4 characters instead of 5.

[This message has been edited by Lou C (edited 01 August 2001).]

Guest buckascott